Found

Falling in love with you wasn’t hard.
You smiled in my direction and I got lost.
I was lost in your smile and your laugh.
But they were like road maps showing me the way back to the me that no one sees.
You have honest eyes.
I can tell because they are like nothing I’ve ever seen.
And when I told you about all of the wrong that was done to me, you apologized for their mistakes.
You’re special to me and to everyone that meets you.
Your heart is made of gold but still it’s you that treats me as if I’m a precious metal- never knowing your worth.
No one has ever noticed how you shine.
But I found you in my darkest of days.
It would have been so easy to fall into the black but you walked by and just like a child chasing fireflies, I followed you.
I watched you light up the world for others and let you light mine too.

I wake up next to you.
Your hair is messy; your beard is unkept.
I wonder how I slept though your snoring.
I’m so thankful that I’m looking at you.
I’m so thankful that you guided me to a place where I can be myself.
So I lay here and I watch you sleep.
I straighten out the tshirt- your tshirt- that I slept in and grab your hand.
You open your eyes and smile and I smile back.
I know as you squeeze my hand as you drift back to sleep that this is what love feels like.
And I fall again, but thankfully, falling in love with you isn’t hard.

Leave a comment